top of page

Tissue Paper Flowers DIY | Step By Step | Mermaid Birthday Decorations DIY | Tissue Paper Pom Poms


diy mermaid birthday party decorations

I just love how these tissue paper flowers can add a pop of color to any wall for a mermaid birthday party! One of the reasons I love it so much is that it is cheap! I spent a dollar at the Dollar Tree to make this. All I needed was one pack of tissue paper. They would be so cute above a dessert table with some fun mermaid tail cupcakes!


You could easily customize these tissue paper flowers. Choose whichever colors you would like to fit into your party theme. Add more flowers for a bigger and fuller effect. Also, varying sizes of your flowers could add a nice contrast to your party decorations.


I would include these cute flowers with my free printable mermaid party kit. You can print mermaid games, invitations, thank you cards, coloring pages, and more!

things to make with tissue paper

Another fun and cheap way to add some color to your birthday party is with crepe paper garlands! Add pops of color to your party for very little money.


Supplies:

  • Tissue Paper

  • Pen or pencil

  • Circles to trace

  • Stapler

  • Scissors

Directions:


Chose a circle to trace. I used two different size bowls that I had in my cupboard. Bigger circles will make a bigger flower.

Fold your stack of tissue paper, so that you have multiple sheets on top of each other. For my smaller flowers (3 inches) I made stacked 8 sheets of tissue paper. For my bigger flowers (6 inches) I used 12 sheets of tissue paper. For a fuller, puffy flower uses more tissue paper.


step by step tissue paper flowers

Trace your circle onto the tissue paper stack.


easy tissue paper flowers

Put a staple in the middle of your traced circle.


party decorations for cheap

Place another staple over top of the other one in + shape.


tissue paper flower tutorial easy

Cut out the circle.


diy tissue paper flowers

Make 1/2 inch slits around your circle.


birthday party decorations ideas

The slits don't have to be perfect!


mermaid 1st birthday decorations

Pull up the first layer of tissue paper and gently pull it up so to it is standing up.


diy tissue paper pom poms

Continue this with all the layers, and as you go shape the flower. You may need to fluff it up as you go along.


how to make tissue paper pom poms step by step

Continue making flowers until you get as many as you need!


**WANT TO PIN THIS DIY TISSUE PAPER FLOWER FOR LATER? CLICK ON THE PIN BELOW TO SAVE THE TISSUE PAPER FLOWER TO YOUR FAVORITE DIY BOARD ON PINTEREST. ***



tissue paper flower tutorial easy

JOIN THE DISCUSSION! WHAT COLOR COMBINATION DID YOU USE? WHAT DID YOU USE THE FLOWERS FOR?


If you loved this DIY tissue paper flower tutorial, I’d love for you to leave a comment and review!


Don't miss a post! Subscribe today and receive updates on new posts, and bonus party ideas and recipes! Follow along on Instagram, Facebook, for party inspiration and mom tips, or see what I’m loving on Pinterest! Want to connect with a great group of moms? Join our Facebook Group


2015-08-16 14.39.09 - Copy.jpg

Hello! I'm Savanah from Vanah Lynn Designs. Come join me in a journey through motherhood. Find the joy in DIY, crafts, birthday parties, and cooking. Be sure to check out my handmade ribbon tutus!

Follow Me!

  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases from Amazon

bottom of page