top of page

DIY Mermaid Tail Cupcake Toppers- A Fun Mermaid Dessert


diy mermaid tail cupcake toppers

Are you wondering how to make mermaid tail cupcakes? We have the perfect solution for you with this DIY mermaid tail cupcake toppers tutorial.


Mermaid Party Dessert Ideas:

I love dessert tables! Mainly because I am a sugar addict. So a whole table devoted to desserts is my dream. Some of my favorite dessert table additions are chocolate cherries, marshmallow pops, and colorful pudding. All the colors of these desserts can be customized to a mermaid party, by changing the color combinations to a mermaid theme!

how to make mermaid tail cupcakes

If you need mermaid party decorations, you can get them below. This free party kit includes: BINGO, invitations, thank you card, Pin the Smile on the Mermaid, word search, birthday banner, cupcake wrapper, water bottle label, straw topper, and ten mermaid coloring pages!

Mermaid Birthday Cake and Cupcakes:

For these cute mermaid cupcakes, I used a funfetti cupcake recipe. I love this recipe because when you bite into the cupcake you see all the pretty sprinkles on the inside. It adds a little extra color and fun to your party.

mermaid party dessert ideas

To frost these cupcakes I used buttercream frosting that I dyed with gel food coloring. I made two separate colors, one purple the other aqua. I put the colors side by side in a piping bag. And swirled the buttercream frosting onto the cupcakes.


I used marshmallow fondant for my mermaid tails, they turned out a little on the softer side. I wish I had used candy melts on the tail. You can choose either one and it will work.

mermaid tail cupcakes

Materials for DIY Mermaid Tail Cupcake Toppers:

diy mermaid tail cupcake toppers

How to Make Mermaid Tail Cupcakes:


Marshmallow Fondant:

  1. Using gel food coloring, dye your fondant to the color that you would like your tail to be.

  2. Press the fondant into the mold.

  3. Gently pull the tail out of the mold.

mermaid birthday cake and cupcakes

Candy Melts:

  1. Chose the desired color of candy melts. You can mix colors together to achieve the desired color.

  2. Microwave the melts in a microwave-safe bowl in 30-second intervals, stirring in between. Microwave until just melted.

  3. Pour the melted chocolate into the mermaid tail. And let sit to harden. You can place the mold into the refrigerator to speed up this process.


**WANT TO PIN THIS DIY MERMAID TAIL CUPCAKE TOPPERS TUTORIAL FOR LATER? CLICK ON THE PIN BELOW TO SAVE THE MERMAID BIRTHDAY CAKE AND CUPCAKES IDEA TO YOUR FAVORITE BIRTHDAY BOARD ON PINTEREST. ***

how to make mermaid tail cupcakes

JOIN THE DISCUSSION! DO YOU LIKE THE TASTE OF FONDANT?


If you loved these mermaid party dessert ideas, I’d love for you to leave a comment and review!


Don't miss a post! Subscribe today and receive updates on new posts, and bonus party ideas and recipes! Follow along on Instagram, Facebook, for party inspiration and mom tips, or see what I’m loving on Pinterest! Want to connect with a great group of moms? Join our Facebook Group

2015-08-16 14.39.09 - Copy.jpg

Hello! I'm Savanah from Vanah Lynn Designs. Come join me in a journey through motherhood. Find the joy in DIY, crafts, birthday parties, and cooking. Be sure to check out my handmade ribbon tutus!

Follow Me!

  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases from Amazon

bottom of page