top of page

DIY Rainbow Scratch Paper - Family Paint Night Idea

Enjoy a family paint night with a few simple supplies that you probably have at home. Make your own DIY rainbow scratch paper with crayons, cardstock, and black paint! Place your artwork in a nice frame and hang it up with pride.

diy rainbow scratch paper

Scratch Art For Kids

One of the reasons I love this project so much it is so cheap to create. I used to love doing scratch art as a kid, but they were so expensive that I was rarely allowed to do them. As a mom now, I love when my kids are able to get creative!


Art Paint Party

This would also make the perfect art paint party idea. The black paint dries quickly, all you need is a thin layer. Buy a few stencils for the kids to trace and they will love the activity. Be sure to print off our free rainbow party kit to accompany your party.

scratch art for kids

Mommy And Me Painting

Enjoy some special time with your little ones doing this project with just you and them! I love spending one-on-one time with my girls. You may also want to try making sharpie mugs or DIY Bead Bowls with them next!

art paint party

DIY Rainbow Scratch Paper

Supplies:

Directions:

Choose crayons that are bright bold colors or pastel. If you choose dark colors they will not show up as well under the black paint. The best colors to use are yellow, red, bright blue, and orange.

mommy and me painting

Color on the cardstock with the crayons. Color in blocks, alternating colors. Make sure the entire paper is completely covered in crayon.

family paint night

Paint a thin layer of black paint over the entire paper. You should not be able to see the crayon through the paint. Let the paint dry, mine only took 10-20 minutes to dry!

DIy rainbow scratch paper

Use a blunt object (I used the bottom of my paintbrush) to scratch off the paint in the areas you want to see the crayon. If you are using stencils, you can trace around your stencil for this step. I free-handed all my designs, so do whichever you feel more comfortable with.


If you accidentally scratch a place you do not want to be scratched off, you can apply more black paint in these areas and let them dry again.


Place your artwork in a frame and place it on the wall for everyone to enjoy!

scratch art for kids

**WANT TO PIN THE DIY RAINBOW SCRATCH PAPER FOR LATER? CLICK ON THE PIN BELOW TO SAVE THE SCRATCH ART FOR KIDS TO YOUR FAVORITE KID'S ART BOARD ON PINTEREST. ***

art paint party

JOIN THE DISCUSSION! DO YOUR KIDS LIKE ARTS AND CRAFTS?


If you loved the DIY rainbow scratch paper, I’d love for you to leave a comment and review!


Don't miss a post! Subscribe today and receive updates on new posts, and bonus party ideas and recipes! Follow along on Instagram, Facebook, for party inspiration and mom tips, or see what I’m loving on Pinterest! Want to connect with a great group of moms? Join our Facebook Group.

2015-08-16 14.39.09 - Copy.jpg

Hello! I'm Savanah from Vanah Lynn Designs. Come join me in a journey through motherhood. Find the joy in DIY, crafts, birthday parties, and cooking. Be sure to check out my handmade ribbon tutus!

Follow Me!

  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I may earn a small commission from qualifying purchases from Amazon

bottom of page